For Christmas last year my regular hairdresser (the incredible Mishi of Festoon Salon) and I decided to exchange books.  I gave her a copy of one of my favorites – Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert – and she in turn tuned me in to Tales of the City by Armistead Maupin.

I have to admit… I wasn’t entirely hooked right off the bat.  I think part of it was that I only had time to read a few pages at a time so it was hard for me to get the flow.  I really love to read, so when I went to get my hair colored for the L Salon photoshoot I decided to bring the book along and really give it a shot.   And can I just tell you that I was really, really, really glad I did.

The book was incredible!  I honestly don’t even know how to explain it, and even though its been reviewed millions and millions of times, I felt like I had to give it some love on my own blog.  From a writers standpoint I am absolutely mesmerized by the way Maupin is able to weave the stories back and forth in such a way that the end of each chapter leaves you, literally, hungry for more.  I’m so incredibly blown away by his wit, humor, and talent.

From a reader’s perspective, I was enchanted by how I was able to react and respond to each of the characters.  Of all of them I believe that I related to Mary Ann the most – that small town naivety never leaves you – but I swear I learned to love each and every one of them.  From the mystery that surrounds Mrs. Madrigal to Brian’s late night festivities  to Michael & Mona’s platonic relationship – I absolutely loved every single word.

So I hit up Borders on Friday night and indulged myself in More Tales of the City (2nd in the series), and have found myself even more and more engrossed.  I have no doubt that I’ll probably read all 7 books.  Unfortunately I sort of spoiled some of the major series twists by looking the whole thing up on Wikipedia – seriously DO NOT DO THAT – but I’m still going to read the whole thing through.  Its such an addiction now!  Can’t resist!!  And I’ll totally be posting more reviews as I finish more books.

I’m a fan.  For real reals.

