I’ve been pretty cupcakey myself these days (see definition #4 ), so its really no surpise that I’m in the mood to bake cupcakes!  Haha… ok, worst opening line ever, but in actuality I’ve been stumbling across some very interesting cupcake recipes these days.  I don’t have a ton of extra cash, so though I’d love to try them all… I can’t.  So I’m soliciting some help… which ones do you think I should bake this weekend???

Option 1:  Gin and Tonic Cupcake

I stumbled upon this recipe while reading YumSugar a couple weeks ago and it immediately peaked my curiosity.  The Gin and Tonic is my good friend Jimmy’s preferred poison, and my cupcakes are the only cupcakes that he eats in this world, so I thought it might be a good combination.  I love the presentation… the candied lime makes it look darling, but the only thing I’m concerned with is the marscapone frosting.  Personally, I’m not a huge marscapone cheese fan but I’m wondering if cream cheese might be too strong and mask the gin? I also loved how light and airy the cake seems.  The recipe calls for meringue powder and tonic water, so it must be airy.  I’m sure it could probably float if you wanted it to!

The author also posted a slideshow called “7 Unconventional Cupcakes,” and to me, all of them except the bacon one look fantastic!  I really hope to get a minute to try a few of these.

Gin and Tonic Cupcakes

Gin and Tonic Cupcakes

Option 2:  Peach Cupcakes with Brown Sugar Cream Cheese Frosting

One of my coworkers recently turned me on to the blog Smitten Kitchen which has become one of my favorite resource.  Not only does the author post amazing sweets, but she posts other savory foods as well as helpful kitchen tips.  I LOVE that she posts pictures of the cooking process as well.  Anyways… so Smitten Kitchen posted these cupcakes that sound AMAZINGGGGG!

The recipe starts  with a lighter cupcake as a base, and you fold in bits of fresh peaches.  I’m assuming the cake is light enough that you could probably substitute other fruits as well… omg how good would raspberry cupcakes be?  Mmmmm… But yeah, you fold in the peaches just before you throw the batter in the oven.  Definitely a treat to the unsuspecting recipient of this cupcake.

Now.  We all know that cream cheese frosting is amazing in itself, but when you combine it with the amazingness that is brown sugar… well my friends, this is a whole ‘nother monster!  I’ve never had cream cheese frosting before, but as you can tell, I’m pretty excited to try it.  I’ll let you know how this one works out!

Peach Cupcakes with Brown Sugar Cream Cheese Frosting

Peach Cupcakes with Brown Sugar Cream Cheese Frosting

Option 3: Boston Cream Pie Cupcakes

I’ve seen several recipes for Boston Cream Pie cupcakes and intrigue me because I’ve never actually had a boston cream pie.  They look delish!  All that chocolate ganache & cream, but where did it come from and why Boston?  According to this site they’ve been served on the East Coast since 1856, but I’m not sure how accurate that is.  Someday I will find out, but for now, I’m leaving it as my 3rd weekend option.

Boston Cream Pie Cupcakes!

Boston Cream Pie Cupcakes!

Goodness they look scrumptious.  Kinda like one of those cream filled donuts, but in a cupcake form.  🙂

Anyways… those are my top 3 pics right now, and its a pretty difficult decision.  I have some thinking to do, so let me know your pics.  Also… @kayts, wanna bake this weekend??? 😀

lovelovelove&cupcakes!!!

