A group of friends and I decided to start a book club. Basically its just an excuse for all of us to get together for a few hours and chat over some sweets & wine, but there is some reading & book discussing involved… ๐Ÿ™‚

The first book we chose to read was The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown. Most of you have heard of Dan Brown’s work before, and if you haven’t, let me gently remind you. The DaVinci CodeAngels & Demons… any of this sounding familiar yet?

Cover Shot

(Photo from here)

I thought it might. Anyways, I’d read both The DaVinci Code and Angels & Demons a few years ago and was pleasantly entertained by both, so I was looking forward to reading this story. Rather than purchase a physical copy of the book I chose to download the book from Amazon and test out my iPad and all of the e-reading hype.ย Truth be told, there are many advantages and disadvantages to reading on an iPad, but I’m going to save that for a different post!

Back to Mr. Brown. When I opened the book the first thing I noticed was how gargantuan the thing was. Even though I wasn’t holding a 2 lb. hardcover, my jaw dropped at the sight of seeing 133 chapters in the table of contents. 133 chapters?? Are you kidding me? Luckily some of them were only 3 or 4 pages long, while others seemed to drag on longer.

For the most part the story was really engaging even if it was lengthy. There were some parts that I literally swore out loud because I simply could not believeeeeeee the storyline. Unfortunately I felt the ending was a major let down. I’m not going to go into any more details than that, but seriously, WTF was the deal with that ending? Regardless I think it is a worthwhile read. It really really was a good story with incredible detail. There are so many things about Washington D.C. that I wonder about now… like is there really a catwalk above the Rotunda at the Capital Building? Are there really secret rooms underground? I understand the book is a complete work of fiction, and that all names and events, etc. are, “purely coincidental,” in nature… but there’s a tiny part of me that is still curious. ๐Ÿ™‚

My score: 2.5-3 out of 5 stars. Honestly, the ending knocked it down a good 1/2 a star for me.

