After pulling ourselves through The Lost Symbol the Book Club Girls decided that our next literary conquest would be The Help by Kathryn Stockett. I have to admit I’d never heard of this book before then, so I just nodded along with the rest of them hoping it would be as good as they were saying.

I came home that afternoon and immediately downloaded the book (using the iBooks application this time)… eager to get a head start in case I wasn’t as much of a fan as everyone else was.

I couldn’t have been more wrong.

This book is amazing! Ms. Stockett really really hit it out of the park with this one! The story line alone is so completely thoughtful and refreshing… its hilarious, heart-wrenching, and hopeful all at the same time. I fell in love with how well the book was written and with all of the details. You can literally hear the characters speak their words all in a perfectly sugary-sweet Southern accent. The story takes place in Jackson, Mississippi during the early-1960’s at the height of the Civil Rights movement. The historical details transport the reader back to a place where you can literally feel the heat of the day… smell the smoke in the air… and see all the cracks in Miss Elizabeth’s aging dining room table.

I felt that I identified best with the character of Skeeter… in more ways than one. In her writing capabilities, in her physical insecurities, in her always wanting more… I also deeply loved Abileen & Minny’s relationship. I hope that every woman alive has a friendship with someone similar to theirs. Which character do you identify with most? Who was your favorite?

It’s probably more of a “chick read,” but I still think that anyone can take something from the story and apply it to the social movements of today. I wholeheartedly recommend this book to everyone, and even though I purchased it electronically, I’ll probably go and buy the hard copy just to have it on hand.

My rating? 5.5 out of 5 stars!!

Absolutely amazing! I'm so glad I read this one!

(Photo from here.)

Next month’s book is The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo… another thriller! Get excited!

