I need to vent here.

WHO THE F*@K SHOOTS A SEA OTTER?!?!?!?!!!

Now let me step back and explain…

About a year ago I wrote a post professing my undying and unconditional love for a small furry type of mammal commonly known as the Sea Otter. Aside from Lucy, they pretty much are my favorite animals in the world and, unfortunately, their population has been struggling. There are several awesome groups in the US dedicated to saving the Sea Otters. Like most non-profits these organizations struggle with funding and legislation along with their every day tasks. Below is a list of some awesome Otter-related organizations. Check them out, and feel free to make a donation if you can!

List of Awesome Otter Organizations (in no particular order & sorry if I forgot any):

Anyways, back to my story. As if their job wasn’t hard enough, now there is a Sea Otter MURDERER lurking along the California shore! On June 24, 2010, a female otter was found dead near Morro Bay. Cause of death? Oh you know… a PELLET to the head (from a pellet gun, mind you). The generic AP story appeared in several California media outlets including: the San Francisco Chronicle, the San Luis Obispo Tribune, and the Merced SunStar. This morning I read that a reward has been issued for information leading to the arrest of this individual… up to $6K from various animal organizations around the nation. Sea Otters are federally protected by the Marine Mammal Protection Act, and so this D-Bag can actually be prosecuted assuming investigators (is that the right word here?) can find the person. You can read the full details here.

So yeah… Sea Otters!! What kind of person does that?? They’re so adorably cute & such sweet animals… They don’t hurt anyone and seriously bring JOY to the lives of anyone who watches them! Is it too much to ask that they NOT shot in the head when they’re out enjoying the sun? So sick… I really hope that they catch this person, but I kinda doubt they will. 😦 Obviously if you know anyone with information PLEASE turn them in… I’ll even ship you a dozen Treats of your choice if that will make someone come forward!

IF YOU HAVE INFORMATION PLEASE CALL:

DFG Warden Hank Hodel  (805) 610-3920

Department of Fish and Game Anonymous Tip Line: 1-888-DFG-CALTIP

I’m done venting about this. And I’m sure you’re done reading my vents too. So here’s some cute pictures to end with:

Clearly enjoying his Pellegrino. (Ahem, we should stop LITTERING too!)

(Photo from here)

Cutest Picture Ever.

(Photo from here also on my previous blog post)

Orrr maybe this one wins the cute contest?

(Photo from my previous blog post)

Save the Sea Otters!!!

