HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAAAAAAAA…. God, this book.

Ahem, sorry, please let me start over…

Have you ever read any of Christopher Moore’s books? You haven’t? We’ll you’re missing out on an insane amount of offending, hilarious, ingenious, yet ridiculous literary mastery, and you should feel really really bad about that.

Really.

I was first introduced to Christopher Moore by a friend who is no longer my friend anymore. I don’t feel bad about how that ended… so you shouldn’t feel bad about that either.

Really.

Back in like… 2006? Maybe? Somewhere around there this non-friend gifted me with one of Moore’s earlier works called, “Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff, Christ’s Childhood Pal.” Non-friend promised me that the book would be hilarious and entertaining, but that I shouldn’t take it too seriously since it did toy around with the stories of Christianity. So I started in on this book… reading it out loud to my college roommate one chapter at a time before bed. Most of the time we barely got through a chapter because, oh dear lord, I was laughing so hard I was crying. At one point I literally rolled off of my tiny twin sized bed mid-sentence because I was laughing SO HARD! And my poor roommate… she’s screaming saying, “WHAT! WHAT HAPPENED?!!?! FINISH THE F*#&@#*$# SENTENCE!!!”

Needless to say I was a fan. And because I was in love with how much this book made me laugh I thought it only best to pay it forward. So I began loaning it out to everyone I knew. The only person who didn’t appreciate the book was my Mother. See, Mom is pretty religious and she considered it blasphemous and blah blah blah. But that’s a whole different story. I didn’t think it was blasphemous at all… I thought it was hilarious, and I know that Jesus does too.

This is the book you're going to go look for.

(Photo from here)

Back to Fool.

I went up to Seattle a few months ago to visit some extended family. It doesn’t matter how many books I own, I’ll always end up buying one at the airport. Fool happened to be the purchase of that trip.

The cover of my book is red, but the internets cannot produce a red cover, so you get to see it in black.

(Photo from here)

So I was a bit sleepy and as I was wandering through tiny & overpriced book shop Fool caught my eye. At the moment it was at the top of the NY Times list, and I recognized the author’s name, so why not give it a shot? Then I opened the book and saw this warning (yes, warning):

“This is a bawdy tale. Herein you will find gratuitous shagging, murder, spanking, maiming, treason, and heretofore unexplored heights of vulgarity and profanity, as well as non-traditional grammar, split infinitives, and the odd wank. If that sort of thing bothers you, then gentle reader pass by, for we endeavor only to entertain, not to offend. That said, if that’s the sort of think you think you might enjoy, then you have happened upon the perfect story!”

I was hooked.

Once I boarded the flight I opened up the book, and in true Moore fashion, I was laughing in the first chapter. I think I managed to get through 3 chapters in total before I landed, then I closed the book and it remained closed until last week.

I know, that really doesn’t give you much incentive to read this book, now does it? Just bear with me…

The reason for my long absence from this book was because I joined a book club once I returned from Seattle and have been finishing those books. Luckily, I managed to finish The Help 2 weeks early, so I decided to finish Fool in the meantime.

No lies, it’s been a really entertaining week on Bart with this one. Moore definitely held true to his promise of, “non-traditional grammar,” and because of that I could literally hear the character’s accents in my head. That, my friends, is a sign of GREAT writing. Fool is essentially a play on Shakespeare’s King Lear but you don’t have to have read that story to know what’s going on in this one. The main character, Pocket, is the King’s prized fool and his character surpasses beyond my definition of ridiculous. He starts as very carefree, but his character goes through revelations and Pocket changes in to a deeper individual but still keeps the air of lightheartedness about him. Drool is another one of my favorites… oh dear Drool. 🙂

The only issues that I had with the story is that it wasn’t always clear what was happening, but that could have been because A) I took a 2 month break between starting the book and finishing it, or B) I’m not super familiar with Shakespeare’s King Lear. Overall I completely understood the book, but still felt that I had missed some details along the way.

Moore’s tale is very vulgar, very cunning, and very very entertaining. It definitely a read that I would not recommend to my Mother, but maybe to your Mother? Dunno… I suppose it depends on where she draws the “inappropriate” line. If you’re already a Moore fan, then Fool will not disappoint… and if you’re not? Then maybe this will turn you into one. I give this 3.8 stars out of 5.

