Halloween was 2 days ago… Thanksgiving is less than a month away… and Christmas is a month after that. It’s safe to say that pumpkins are on everyone’s brain!

Is it orange enough for pumpkins?

I got an order last week to make some halloween inspired cupcakes, but the trick was they needed to be Happy Hour-inspired cupcakes (AKA: FULL of booze).

So how do you combine pumpkins and booze?!

I did some research… and then some thinking… and then some more research… before I finally decided that a spiced rum would be the most complimentary alcohol to pumpkin treats. I finally decided to make Pumpkin Cupcakes with Maple and Rum based on a recipe from the Cupcake Project.

Fresh out of the oven!

I topped the cupcakes with Martha’s trusty swiss meringue buttercream that had been flavored with a heavy dose of spiced rum. Combined I thought the cupcakes tasted just a hair on the buttery-sweet side. They were really good, but maybe just a bit rich for my liking. In the future I’d consider adding a hint of maple syrup to the buttercream to enhance the flavor in the cupcakes and to mellow the afterbite of the rum. πŸ™‚

OmNoms indeed...

That night I baked 2 dozen Pumpkin Rum cupcakes, 2 dozen Irish Delight cupcakes, and 6 dozen pumpkin whoopie pies. The whoopie pies were absolutely adorable and alcohol free…

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies... Mini-sized of course!

… but I think I was most proud of the cupcakes. The flavors were spot on, but the fondant pumpkins and witches hats really made them shine!

Fondant pumpkins & witches' hats atop Pumpkin-Rum cupcakes.

Finished Irish Delight cupcakes

Lots of OmNom Treats... πŸ™‚

Hope everyone had a safe and happy Halloween!

Photos by Maurice Trudell

